an app to track your diet

[ad_1]

Mylène, a Stuffi reader, gives us her opinion on MyFitnessPal, an application that allows you to track your diet.

The promise: “Lose weight with MyFitnessPal. The fastest and easiest application among all calorie counters. "

I am not a diet fanatic, but like any girl who flips through the women's press, it was impossible for me to escape the diktat of the swimsuit as summer approached. A friend told me about this app which calculates the number of calories gobbled up each day to help with weight loss. So it's a bit skeptical that I downloaded MyFitnessPal, on April 13th.

The application is very simple and clear: you enter your profile, indicating weight, height, age etc. It is possible to set a weight loss goal, but also a fitness goal. It’s after the serious stuff starts! Because yes, it is necessary to insert day by day, meal after meal, each food ingested…

At first glance, we say that it is totally impossible, but I must admit that it’s simpler than it looks. The first days, you learn to type and find your food and above all … to estimate the portions! I admit, I do not weigh all my portions and sometimes go a little at random, but I weighed certain foods in order to have a better idea of ​​the quantities. Cereals, bread, pasta, many go there and little by little I realize what "a daily portion of 30 or 45g" represents. It’s significantly less than I imagined…

A typical day with MyFitnessPal

The food database is really large: you can find products from all the major distributors, organic brands, German and English brands, in short, everything. It is even possible to create your own food sheet, but I have not had to do it to date. The great thing is that you can scan the barcode of your ready-to-eat food or meal, and hey, the app records all the calorie and other bad fat details on your own.

As the days go by, I note that I often eat the same foods, so it's getting faster and easier to fill up my daily journal. At the end of each week, a graph represents the calories (and possible excesses …), which gives a good overview of our diet week (or excess ..).

We can also insert the sport we do next: walking, running, cleaning (!!) I even found the exact title of the course I do at the gym! The app automatically deducts the calories lost from your journal.

In the end, I do not use certain features, such as the web connection (I do everything from my phone) or even messages and friends. It's sometimes a bit long and tedious to return your meal, during a mixed salad or a homemade pie. Put the 10cl of cream, the tablespoon of olive oil in the salad or the knob of butter? No, I didn’t.

Myfitnesspal Dashboard

That said, I logged in 50 days in a row, and then quit a week, to resume for 7 days. I lost 2 pounds and I mostly learned to better understand what I eat. I was careful to bring in EVERYTHING I eat and drink, suddenly some days I greatly exceed the number of calories allowed …, but that's the game. It is (almost) not guilty, we amused to see the calorie counter drop, then go back up after a workout.

[ad_2]