Fitbit Flex, a new motivation

[ad_1]

Adelaide is an expatriate Stuffi reader in Australia. A user of the Fitbit Flex for a few months, she gives us her opinion and explains to us how this bracelet has changed these habits. Thank you to her for this beautiful article.

"smart health connected bracelets have been eyeing me for quite a while now. Me who likes to monitoring a little everything and anything I was still divided between the desire to have one and the fear of the gadget effect that makes you get tired after a barely a week.

After thinking about it for almost 6 months and reading dozens of reviews, I finally decided on the Fitbit Flex. Reliable, inexpensive and with its customizable design thanks to the different colors of existing bracelets, it seemed to me the best compromise (I must admit that I would have originally preferred the FitBit Force for its watch function but it apparently suffered a lot of technical problems).

First contact

The device is actually a very small object that is placed in the bracelet. It comes with its charger, which plugs directly into USB, and a dongle to facilitate synchronization with the computer. It must be charged before the first use, then once the battery level is sufficient, just create an account and link the bracelet by following the synchronization tool. Everything is very well explained and there is really no way to go wrong.

Level bracelet, in the basic pack available in store it is possible to choose between the black version and the version called "slate", a kind of blue-gray. But if you choose to go through the FitBit Store there are many more color choices. Good point for my micro wrist, the box contains two sizes of small and large bracelets so that it should be able to go to anyone. The bracelet is easy to put on and holds very well in place. I was even able to Review with an obstacle course on the beach and it held up perfectly! No risk of loss therefore.

I also bought a pack of three other colors so that I could vary and match it with my outfits. The choice of colors is one of the reasons that led me to choose FitBit because it makes it much more portable in everyday life compared to other less discreet models.

Data synchronization

What I love about this bracelet is that I wear it and forget it. It synchronizes itself as soon as I am near my computer with the dongle or my phone (with Bluetooth enabled). So I have nothing to do and I can follow my activity whenever I want. To just check my progress in terms of number of steps during the day, I just need to double tap the bracelet and it lights up: 1 LED = 20% of my target. If I reach my quota of steps during the day the bracelet vibrates to congratulate me. I’ve left the target at 10,000 steps (which is recommended for health), but that number is fully customizable.

Regarding the dashboard, it is very pleasant to use, both in mobile and desktop versions. The graphics are clear and give a fun side to the use. I’m even thinking of going premium in order to have more precise data and benefit from more alerts.

Fitbit dashboard
Fitbit dashboard
Fitbit dashboard

My use

Rather sporty in nature, I go to the gym every morning during the week. On the other hand once in the office I realized that I was really still for far too long during the day. If I do not take into account the morning sports session, I barely exceed 2,000 steps out of the 10,000 recommended, so not so good for my body. Unable to take the car to go to work, I try to take short breaks more regularly to take a few steps. I also try to go talk to my colleagues directly rather than going through Skype or email. Not only do I move a little more, but I also have answers to my questions much faster, so good!

For my sports activities, the bracelet also works very well. On the treadmill, he continues to take into account all my steps and if ever I ride the exercise bike I place the sensor in my shoe rather than the wrist and everything works!

Sleep tracking also amuses me. Having no sleep problems, I look at it more anecdotally but it works well and the data is interesting. To enter sleep mode, just tap the bracelet until it vibrates and ditto get out. Easy so, even if you do not have your eyes in front of the holes … I have, however, experienced the silent alarm function and if we are not too heavy sleep it is practical if I have to wake up without waking my husband with the sound of an alarm clock.

There is also the possibility of tracking the calories consumed but I find the principle too tedious and, since weight loss is not my goal, I don't care more than that.

Last big positive for me, when the battery starts to be a little weak I receive an email and a notification on my phone to remind me to plug it in. With this system, it's difficult to break down…

The Fitbit support

Only problem now, my first Flex was apparently a defective model. After only 2 weeks of use, it could not be synchronized (not recognized by the phone or the computer) and the battery drained in just a few hours instead of 5 days. So I contacted support by email and I must say that they are extremely fast (at least in Australia). After a few messages they agreed to replace my bracelet although I no longer have the invoice (by checking my FitBit account). I received a complete Flex (the case + 2 bracelets) replacement in just 24 hours! No problem to report since, the new one works perfectly!

Balance sheet

After almost 2 months of use I no longer do without my smart health connected bracelet, I only remove it when I take my shower (it is normally waterproof but I prefer not to take any risks) or when I go surfing (Australia all that …). I pay more attention to my regular physical activity and all this fits into a global perspective of well-being. Let's be honest, it doesn’t change your life, and if you don’t want to move, it’s not a bracelet that will change anything. On the other hand, I must say that at health home, this bracelet sometimes causes stupid behaviors, such as refraining from going to the toilet because my bracelet is charged and I want my steps to be taken into account …. In short, if you are just looking for a new motivation and like me, you like to monitoring a little everything and anything then go for it! "

[ad_2]

 Review