their strained mental health

There is another curve inseparable from that of the cases of Covid-19 about which little is said: the increase in post-traumatic syndromes in caregivers. The flattening of the latter depends directly on the former.

Focus onflattening of the case curve Covid-19 is important so as not to overwhelm hospitals even more. But behind this objective, we must not forget that there are exhausted caregivers. Many of them will not emerge unscathed from such an event, which is not yet over.

Behind the figures are human beings

"Before theepidemic settles in, I remember telling my colleagues and family that it would be serious because we had noimmunity. But in reality it was not that serious because of that. It was because our healthcare system no longer has the means to treat in such situations. " These are the words of a nurse – whom we will call here Sarah – nurse trained in public health and teacher in Institute of training in care nurses (IFSI) in Alsace, the main foyer French epidemic.

This pandemic was his first experience of a health crisis of such magnitude. " No one imagined they would run out of equipment. However, it did happen. I didn't think it could be possible. " She recounts a situation that overwhelmed her and all of her colleagues. " However, my training in public health had allowed me to imagine that the epidemic would be serious. But the data from China prevented me from imagining the reality of what we are experiencing today. It wasn't until I started looking at the dead in Italy that I realized that the Chinese data was probably wrong. Such a shift was impossible. "

Little by little, Sarah relates how she went from a state where she was preparing for a gravity measurable until the latter became completely out of control. " In the recommendations, it is recommended for a risky infection via the droplets of saliva to wear FFP2 masks. I cried the day I realized that we could not wear it because there was not enough stock left. "

Sarah also talks about her aversion to the figures on television. " People seem to get used to announcing the death toll on television. I know that these are not just numbers. They are husbands, dads, mothers, grandmothers … I hate government announcements. I feel like it makes the dead acceptable. "

Day by day, his mental state is degrading. " I have sad ideas. I no longer find any meaning in my work. I try not to think about it too much otherwise some nights I might have a accident of car to free me from the violence of today and that of the future. The financial crisis, the effects of confinement, all these people who will have to be treated. I don't know if I would still have theenergy. "

But Sarah is not an isolated case. Sarah is in the same condition as a good part of the caregivers. Finally, she admits that she has made an appointment with a teleconsultation psychologist. " I have an appointment on Thursday. I know my trouble is present. Denying it won't help me. Caring for myself is important if I want to continue working and caring for all of these people. "

Some figures to measure the extent of the damage

A recent article appeared in Science helps us to understand more rationally the damage that each pandemic crisis, or other situation that saturates hospitals, induces in our caregivers. They bring with them their share of heavy side effects. The studies previous epidemics show that even two years after the latter, the levels of burnout, psychological distress and post-traumatic stress stay considerably higher than in normal times in old epidemic centers.

Recent studies on the pandemic in China, and particularly in Wuhan, have shown that 72% of caregivers had experienced symptoms distress (depression, anxiety, insomnia, etc.). In a recent study prepublished, post-traumatic stress disorder is coming to an end nose among half of Italian caregivers, especially among young women.

"Repairing a torn person is not easy", deplores Roy Perlis, psychiatrist at Massachusetts General Hospital. " Although mental health care is available in most hospitals and clinics, medical staff may not have the time or energy to take advantage of these services. " All this makes us all the better understand the importance to stay with us : for our health, but also that of our caregivers. We must preserve them for a second at all costs wave uncontrollable epidemic.

This will also interest you

The major pandemics of the 20th and 21st centuries In this video, go back in time to discover the pandemics that have marked our history over the past hundred years. Influenza viruses, Ebola, or even HIV, they have infected the whole world.

The post their strained mental health appeared first on Smart Be Well.